<< | 2003-09-24 @ 2:35 p.m. | >>
swirly lists and gratitudes

I can't believe I'm getting paid right now.

Swirly--that's how I feel. Could have something to do with the fact that, after a full night of baby holding, laundry, ice cream, and worship music; getting home at 1:30 or something, then writing in my journal, going pee 4 times (you think I'm joking...unless you know me), and finally turning the light off around 1:50, I still could but barely sleep. The clock ticked on... 2:00...2:30...3:17. I felt like I could run a couple miles, an activity I would normally loathe.

Insomniac? not usually.

So I've been thinking today about a few things. "What to write in my diary? What should I write in my diary? Hmmm...should I write that in my diary?"

Obsessive? perhaps partially.

A few words about extroverts, and why I love/like/appreciate them - a quick top 6:

6) You only have to listen to the last 10% of what they say, because the other 90% is just external processing (courtesy of David Lim).

5) They have this whole introverted side that people don't really know about. (Introverts also have that whole introverted side that people don't know about, but it's expected of them.)

4) They're perpetually making fools of themselves; (aka "entertaining their friends")

3) Tend to be more touch-oriented than their introverted counterparts.

2) When talking to them, they don't look at you in that way which makes you think, "even though I have no idea what I just did wrong, I can see that it was really bad."

1) Having their sentences finished for them doesn�t anger them, or shut them down, rather just encourages them to come up with more material.

By the way, I will add that I love introverts, some of my closest friends are introverted.

Random question inserted here, with the intention of building good rhetoric: Why is it that we feel the need to congratulate men (even men who see us nearly every day) when they notice something different about us?

I will close this entry with a quick list of the things I love right now.

1- being able to go home on my lunch break, strip down to my chones, and take a little nap

2- my new worship mix C.D.

3- getting really ticked that I couldn't find the pepper grinder in the cupboard, and yet still having such a keen sense of grace.

4- Not having a body that would ever be featured in a magazine, yet still feeling incredibly sexy

5- Knowing that I could call my mom, even at this very moment, and she would welcome the interruption

6- Not answering the phones at work

7- The kindness of the Lord

I'm shifting tones a bit. I just had to run downstairs because I unknowingly rescheduled someone to the wrong time. They were pretty upset. It was a 26 year old Russian or Ukrainian woman. She was coming in with her husband, and they scheduled the exam specifically for today, so they could come in on his birthday. He turned 54 today.

8- I love that I'm not married to a 52 year old.

a little more sobered--

Trace

and the P.S.

Last night I got to hold Joseph (Colter's families not quite 3 month old foster baby) until he fell asleep. As I handed him back over on my way out the door, Steve said to Joseph: "Aren't you going to thank Tracey for showing you mercy tonight?"

I replied:

"That's the thing about mercy.

You don't have to be thankful for it."



<< | home | >>