<< | 2003-09-22 @ 3:54 p.m. | >>
Irony

I was walking to the bathroom, from my desk, and on my way I witnessed a couple things. I have loosely defined them as ironic.

A little background. I work at an imaging center (i.e. radiology). One branch of the company is women's imaging (i.e. mammography---this is totally off the subject, but it has made the word "breast" a regular part of my vocabulary..."any breast problems?...any breast implants?...which breast?...yeah). I was walking through the women's imaging department, and I saw one of our technologists, who has recently come back after undergoing chemo. She wears a scarf over her newly bristling hair. She was with a patient. A tall woman, (I guess everyone's tall from my height, but still, she had a slight gargantuan feel to her). But the woman's hair was what I found ironic; more specifically, the contrast between the patient's hair and the technologist's hair.

Like I said, this woman was tall. Ominous even. Partly because of her hair. She had salt and pepper hair. It was a bit coarse, very thick, and utterly unruly, even though she did have the bottom half of it pulled back into a long pony-tail, that brushed her lower back. Let me explain why I used the words "Bottom half" right there, in regards to the pony-tail, because you are probably thinking, "how the heck, why the heck, would someone only bind the bottom half of their hair in a pony tail?" Some of you already know where I'm going with this, as I can hear the collective gasps. The reason you only bind the bottom half of hair, is if the top half of hair is too short to reach into the band. I'm not even gonna say the word of the hairstyle in which the top half is too short, and the bottom half is too long.

It was quite the contrast to the technologist. Made me wonder at why she would have been the one to lose her hair, in the grand scheme of events.

So, after witnessing this, and laughing to myself, I turned the corner, walked out of the women's imaging center, through medical records and out into the hallway, where I ran into two of our phlebotomists. There I noticed bellies. (Another side note that has little to nothing to do with my story, but I love bellies. One must love the squish, for it will always love you back.) Continuing, I noticed their bellies. The woman on the left, her stomach is growing, as she is pregnant. It is, I don't need to inform you, what pregnant bellies do. The other woman, her stomach is shrinking. It is, after all, what bellies recently having undergone gastric bypass surgery (i.e. stomach stapling) do.

Just a couple little ironic instances on my walk back from the bathroom to my desk. (I know, I lied to you in the first sentence. I was actually on my way back).

Just minutes ago, a lady called me to schedule an exam.

"Yeah, I need to schedule an exam. My day off is tomorrow." (note: slight demanding tone, unrealistic expectation that we would accomodate the tomorrow, though we might get lucky, so I went ahead with the dialogue).

"What kind of exam?" (I think I've now perfected my, 'even though I find you utterly frustrating and annoying, I will still speak to you with professionalism. All "professionalism" is, most of the time, is "fake," but anyhow..."

"Uh, I don't know. It says here... CT... of my shoulder. Or maybe my head."

I didn't respond to that.

"Then it says something, B-knees."

"Is it a regular x-ray, a CT..."

"I don't know, I can't read the writing."

Well neither can I. It kind of makes a difference.

I mean, I guess we could throw her in for a Barium enema, while we were doing her head, shoulders, knees (and toes).

I will leave you with that.

Such love,

"Miss" Tracey

P.S. I wrote 2 for today. To make up for the weekend. So you're not done reading.

<< | home | >>