<< | 2003-09-29 @ 2:30 p.m. | >>
work and life stories

I never realized how funny my work place was until I started writing about it.

The phone call for today wasn't really a phone call, but actually happened in person.

Sitting at my desk, I noticed a certain aroma wafting by. It was the sort of aroma you notice when someone has eaten something that doesn't agree with their lower g.i. and are now paying for it, along with all of those within a 15 foot perimeter.

Just prior to noticing this lingering scent, my boss, the CEO of our company had walked by; and, naturally, I assumed he was making a run for the border. So I let it go, shaking my head with the consoling, "Man, I hate it when my stomach hurts too" shake.

A few more minutes had passed. I was typing an email to my friend, and there was my boss, standing next to my desk, not saying anything.

"Should I close my inbox...is he upset at me and doesn't know how to say, 'I have noticed you typing in your diary more than working lately and need to talk to you about it'...Does he have a job for me, but it's too private to tell me about now?" These are the questions running through my mind.

He had a different question running through his. Glancing back and forth a few times, paying careful attention to notice his surroundings, he asked, "Did you notice the 'air freshener' up here earlier?"

I politely chuckled. "What is this kind of self-disclosure?!?" I thought with alarm.

"Dr. __________ has a gas problem. I couldn't stand it. I had to get out of here. A lot of people won't even go into his office because of it. I went downstairs, and it was in the stairway! It had followed me."

By this time, I had lost it. I was laughing from my belly.

That is my "phone-call that wasn't really a phone call but still sounds catchy to say" story of the day.

Makes me think about something else too. My CEO, the head of this company, that guy with the stigma of being "The boss" was the one joking with me about this. I love it when people are themselves--despite all the outer pressures, they are still humble enough to laugh about people's gas problems, (being careful not to embarrass the one whom it plagues).

I appreciate that.

I felt a little sad on the way to work this morning. I had seen the guy from Raley's who I had asked for the location of the spinach dip, walking along side the road. It made me sad because it reminded me how I had been short with him the night before. Probably more out of low blood sugar and being a bit in a hurry than anything else, but still...is that any kind of excuse? There he was, sweeping behind the deli counter, as I asked my question. He didn't know the answer, and then gave me a lot of unnecessary and unasked for information, yet all deserve to be treated with kindness.

So I felt a bit sad.

Last night, at the Stirring, I was blessed. I am still processing some of it, and don't know if it falls into that 'too sacred to say out loud' category, but I did want to note the grace of the Lord to be with His people last night. More personally, I wanted to recognize the deep gratitude in my heart for where I am this year, vs. last year. My spirit, after Taiwan, has returned to life. And I am humbled.

With quiet love, Trace

P.S. About Dr. Weiner...
I used his name as material for a funny story for the purpose of comedic relief; not because I think we should make fun of people who have been made fun of about something for their whole life. I add the disclaimer that my heart goes out to Dr. Weiner and the whole Weiner clan. Making fun of someone for something they can't help is in no way virtuous.

I'm glad we're clear on that now.

<< | home | >>