<< | 2003-10-14 @ 3:32 p.m. | >>
just thinking "out loud"

The ways of one's heart are indeed deep waters. Subtle and blatant. I am always amazed at the happenings we will accept without blinking, versus those we misunderstand and let explode like Hiroshima.

I am also intrigued by the occurences in life which for months, evoke high drama and then suddenly, in the course of one night of locking your keys in your car and getting stuck at your friends' apartment, transform into you being there making dinner for them after a trip to the gym and hearing stories about their day off.

Mystery keeps life poetic.

At work the other day, I took the Myers-Briggs temperament sorter. Mine was ENFP--1% expressed extrovert, and 93% expressed Feeler. The N and P were about even--somewhere in the moderate range.

The strange part though, was reading the description. I began to wonder why it is that temperaments can just be sorted, and then labeled. It was slightly disturbing--can I actually be deduced to a description that matches all the others who would have answered their questions in a manner similar to myself? I didn't think I could. So I went on to read many of the other descriptions, discovering I wasn't an exclusive ENFP "The Champion"--I bled over to many of the other descriptions as well.

Phew. What a relief. Made the quiz fun again.

My best friend is going to be adding a guest entry soon. I wait in anticipation for her writing. Coop is an exceptional person to know. Shoot, we have been able to keep each other entertained for years, talking about the same things we have already discussed 18 times previous.

Do you ever wonder why people are so different in a group versus when they are alone? The theory I propose is this: People are fascinating creatures to know and understand, ourselves included. I think the reality is that they're not really very different, we just experience more of their fullness based upon the setting.

Matt Will and I have been friends for 5 years. I have jokingly called him "Old Faithful"; but it is an accurate reflection of his character. I remember after falling in love with best friend #1, spewing to Matt about it one night. It was my sophomore year in college. I was heartbroken over the treatment I was given, and the way someone can go from so sincere to so selfish. I said to Matt, "Listen. I'm going to trust you not to do the same thing to me."

I didn't know then that I didn't even need to say it out loud.

Matt, this is my public thank you for your respect and kindness and presence as a true friend and brother. (Sorry, I know that was a girl-form compliment) Let me try again:

"Matt. What you have said to me over the years has been really insightful and appreciated. I really like the content of your behavior..." Shoot, I'm failing. I suppose you'll have to be the one to coach me now.

Also, I was deeply blessed serving with you and the rest of the team this weekend. I have enjoyed so much experiencing this stretch of the journey with you.

Goodnight to my dear friends.

One last thing... I am strongly considering massage therapy certification. Please leave me a note with your gut level response (a classic ENFP preference) as to whether or not you think I should go for it. For the thinkers in the audience, this is something I have wanted to do for around 3 years, and have the opportunity this winter/spring. My goal would be to use it as a supplemental income and ministry. And, think about it, I'd never have to buy another birthday present...

Until later... signing off.

Love, Trace

P.S. Those who leave responses, either via notes or email, are more likely to get a free massage when I need to build up my practice hours...

P.P.S My people of the moment are Matt, Trisha, and Jeremy--for letting me be a part of such a life-giving weekend with you.

<< | home | >>