<< | 2003-10-20 @ 5:13 p.m. | >>
being short-a comment

my thoughts at the end of the work day

I read an article today about a study which indicated that tall people make more money -- into the thousands of dollars -- than short people. Though the article did comment on the reality that height in no way has any correlation to competency, other than in basketball, the short woman within me wanted to rise up in a Napoleanic fashion and pummel them all. Down with the inefficient extra space takers!

Then I thought about it some more.

I remembered that, as with King David, the Lord does not look at outward appearance, as does the world, but the heart. Furthermore, he delights in using the things that are not to dismay those things which are.

And I was comforted.

All 5 feet of me.

Honestly though...while it is that I'm talking to than unnamed audience which I sometimes like to address: What is it with the messed up definition of the concept of strength? I'm sorry, but I don't agree. 'Cause in reality I see, strength is found not in the tall. The ones who don't feel. Who've an answer to provide. Give me a soft touch. A sincere tear. That's where I find true strength.

It's been a few days since I entered. This weekend was Celebration weekend at Simpson. I got to see many beautiful faces. It was comforting and unsettling all at once. Of course seeing Tania and the rest of her family is always precious--but I was surrounded by so many old faces. Faces of people who had first influenced me so strongly towards the Lord. I found it, and all their children, refreshing.

I leave with this thought:

Blessed are the meek...for they shall inherit the earth.

The Lord abhors the proud, but gives grace to the humble.

Person of the week, and beyond perhaps:

Matt Will - He will be leaving for the Philippines soon. A true friend he is. Funny anecdote from yesterday: After briefly mentioning someone Matt and I both know, whom I found attractive, and whom Matt happens to approve of, he promptly called him to invite him to church with us. After that not working, (he had to work), we were shopping, but needed to hook up his computer online, and thus needed a phone line. So we called to see if we could use the phone line. Matt and he have plans to go to lunch this Wed. In Matt's words, "OK, I have one week to make this guy my new best friend...I've got to get you in good hands before I leave." Thanks Matt--I felt very loved. And a bit sheepish.

(A side note: Matt really does like this guy, and would hang out with him even if I didn't think his caring for oppressed orphans was exceptionally admirable).

I think I've said too much for today.

Such love, Trace



<< | home | >>