<< | 2003-10-27 @ 5:06 p.m. | >>
an ode to crunching leaves

I don't think you're ever ready for your friends to leave. Especially when they're those kind of friends that have walked with you for a really long time.

Matt's leaving for the Philippines for 2 years.

I'm thinking of leaving for China in July. It would also be for 2 years.

We'd both get ridiculously inexpensive Master's degrees; his in Community development, mine in Intercultural studies.

I want to share a good story with you. Last night, Ben came over. Then Erin. Then Dave. Then Jordana, Matt and Tara. We shared a big pot of Zuppa Toscana (for those not familiar with the term, it is the white soup at the Olive Garden...yum.)

We ate, we laughed, we sat upside down on the couches...all in all, a good night.

Earlier in the day, we had had a going away party for Matt. We ate, we talked, we laughed, we played silly games, we broke a pinata -- all in all, a good day.

This morning, I was feeling overwhelmed about job and life choices. China? Massage school? money? job? school? Friends? moving? All of it makes me a bit scared.

I have no trite or easy answer to for all that.

So I will leave you with what I like about fall -- crunching leaves. My word, it's spectacular. I love to crunch leaves. I went on a walk for my break, just so I could crunch leaves. I don't care if they're piled, single, big, small, or multi-colored -- as long as they're on the ground, and within a foot's reach. I'll crunch 'em. I will I say. Been doing it for years.

Yep, I'm a leaf cruncher.

Love, Trace

<< | home | >>