<< | 2003-12-11 @ 4:57 p.m. | >>
Well, this is what I say about that

I actually have something to say.

A couple nights ago, I was up late on the phone, talking to a friend. We were talking about all sorts of theological principles and concepts, and he was asking me what I thought, all the while playing devil's advocate. I was tired and frustrated, and could not quite articulate what it was that I wanted to say.

But now I have something to say.

I don't have the quote in front of me, but in his book, The 4 Loves, C.S. Lewis describes how even the most wreckless love is still more Christ like than a self-imposed guard and isolation.

I agree.

But, why is that reality only celebrated in a somewhat degrading, disrespected, emotionally deceptive Hollywood rather than Christian circles?

The question is rhetorical, but I do grow weary of being criticized and condescended for choosing mercy. The same people that so ruthlessly pound "biblical principles" (I define that term loosely), tend to be all but blind to verses that profess, "Mercy is better than judgment." Notice the word...better.

Regeneration in a life is not possible without mercy. It is only though the extension of true charity, something we all need, that anyone will have a chance to find out what life really is.

I ran into my friend Nate from work during a break earlier today. He looked at me and said, "Do I owe you?"

"For what?" I couldn't think of anything.

He was referring to the exchange of back rubs...I replied, "you can owe me if you want to owe me."

But honestly, keeping track of a tick for a tack is too much trouble.

And, to not be overly mellodramatic, but, I have a dream. A dream of a world in which we do not have to keep track of debts, but let only the debt to love one another remain outstanding.

It's funny -- I just convicted myself. I began this email feeling that I needed to argue against criticism, and have ended much softer.

Thoughtfully, Tracey

<< | home | >>