<< | 2003-12-09 @ 4:57 p.m. | >>
a lip fetish

Someone help me...please. I have a disease. It is called the "I'm bored at work and really want to buy lip products." My weakness of the moment: The Lip Butter trio from the Body Shop. It comes in Coconut, Mango, and Nut, I think.

Some may not think this such a bad desire of a purchase, but let me expose to you the seriousness of this problem. At this moment, in my small, wallet-sized handbag, I have my cell phone, keys, 2 receipts, a remnant of a pack of gum, my license, a debit card, a discover card, a perfume sample, 6 lip glosses, 1 lip butter, 1 lip stain, and 2 lip liners. I must tell you also, in my other purse there are at least 5 other lip products waiting. (And 5 is a scant estimation). At one point, I had to downsize from 18 different lip products at once. This weekend, I bought Satin Lips (a lip mask and conditioner with balm) from a Mary Kay party. My make up drawer has any ungodly number of discarded and less loved lip sheens. There is always at least one tub of lip balm next to my bed, usually 2 because I am paranoid that I might lose one, or it may run out.

I don't know how to stop this, but I have not cleared the Lip Butter Trio from my cart and browser yet. All I have to do is hit "buy now" and, voila, there is more. I suppose I could justify it by saying that I'll give them away as gifts this Christmas season. But, if I'm lucky, I'll give away one. Somehow, I will manage to convince myself of my inability to part with the delectable butters.

Oh how I want them.

I think this is genetic. My mom is never without lip stick. The other day I asked her if she ever went anywhere without it. She looked at me, nonplussed, and told me to make sure I bury her with a tube.

Hm.

<< | home | >>