<< | 2004-06-03 @ 9:06 a.m. | >>
My friend Tim

I am at work, covering at an office I normally do not work at. I have a computer to myself, and was in a reflective mood; so I am writing.

The last few months have been busy. First it was school, and then I just haven't had a chance to sit at a computer really.

What's new?

I'm out for the summer, that's good news. I went swimming last night with old friends.

I've mostly been thinking about my friend Tim this morning. Tim lives in Minnesota.

I met Tim in Taipei. We taught together, and there was a group of 4 of us who worked more like a little family than a group of random strangers thrown together in a highly turbulent and demanding circumstance. These people were the strength of my soul.

About 7 weeks ago, Tim had his first of 2 surgeries for brain tumors. It was awful while he was in surgery. I felt so connected to what was happening. As did my friend Kami, who lives in Colorado.

Tim came out of his first surgery blind, with the exception of a small, dark, blurred box of vision in his right eye.

Kami and I get to go see him soon. He will be in a center for vision rehab. When that starts, we get to go see him. I haven't seen him for 2 years. Not since Taipei. We said goodbye in one of those infamous airport scenes.

"I'm not going to cry. I cried enough yesterday and last night."

I looked back at him, and there were tears rolling on his face. "Will you cry if I do?" he asked.

It was all over for me after that.

I'm asking God to spill His light all over and through Tim, and to walk within his optic nerves quieting the places which were traumatized, giving them back their strength. I'm praying that He removes the fear which comes with having someone cut into your brain not once, but twice. The fear that comes with realizing your fragility and vulnerability when you know that these tumors could just randomly show up again.

I'm asking God to fill Tim, and carry him, and put in him all sorts of love and hope and harmony.

Tim, this entry is for you.

Thank you for crying first. And for always and still being a friend. For walking me through re-entry, and transition, and teaching me what it's like to long for a home and not really know where it is. For being as diverse as a National Geographic magazine. For shoe shopping, hip hop, and psalms on the guitar. For "getting it."

Tim, I just want you to know that I am constantly petitioning the Lord on your behalf.

-Trace



<< | home | >>