<< | 2004-06-09 @ 12:36 p.m. | >>
the trouble of it is this.

Oh how I can't stand the North American model of teaching. I long for the Socratic dialectic. Or the teacher/apprentice model.

Because, is this teaching?

"Open up your Bibles to ________...

(Note: I am about to take up author's license here to illustrate a reflected feeling, rather than a necessary and/or accurate assessment of the reality upon which I pontificate. There is much hyperbole present.)

...Now, let me tell you the little illustration that I've used to tell you about this incredibly deep and profound truth regarding the state of your spirit, the world, and Christ. I pass it off as my own, though I found it at www.cheesysermonillustrationsRus.com. Just because half of you in the room have heard the story from 3 different pastors in 2 different states, doesn't mean it has lost its originality. Oh-I've digressed. Back to the 'teaching.' After I insert my little question designed to get you to think and reflect. Here it is, here's my question. There, that will radically influence your spiritual journey.

OK... continuing. Oops, I forgot to give you all time to answer. Quick, I will collect 3 responses: I am looking for the obvious one, the super-spiritualized answer, and let's not forget to include a little humor.

Great. I feel better now. Continuing on. This spiritual reality. Isn't it amazing.

What? You've heard someone talk about this power of God before. In fact, you've been hearing it for years.

Well then, let me keep on telling you how wonderful it is.

So you're saying that you never see it...

Uh oh. We've got a real thinker here. Don't you know that she's supposed to just eat this, smile and nod, pray with a loud, declarative voice, shed a tear or two. Why is she questioning this? Of course! It's pride. She needs to be humble and submit herself. I'll throw out that verse at her, I think there's even a song. Yes, I'm feeling the spirit tell me that we should sing the Micah 6:8 song.

...and to walk humbly with thy God.

Great. Problem solved.

Why are you still asking about the power? Aren't you content?

I'll throw out that verse.

"Be content with what you have."

Hopefully she doesn't know that it's talking about money. Shoot. She does. OK.

Well honey, I'm sorry. I don't know the answer to your question. Why are you crying?

But the Bible says right here that we have the power.

Maybe you should go talk to the missionaries. I hear they know about this stuff...

PS.

Though there are many whom I know encounter the power of God, I am longing for it in my own life more deeply than perhaps ever. The frustration for me right now is that I go to church to seek the Lord, but do not find Him there. Instead, I feel that I must fight myself off entirely.

Yesterday at work, one of the delivery men who often comes through was sharing with me that his dad used to work at the fair, as a "carnie." I asked if his dad was a nice carnie.

He said he was a terrible man. This tough-looking delivery man, whom I consider a friend, told me about how he was beat with a board for not knowing his ABC's -- shaking. When he was 5 years old.

And how it was the mental abuse that was worse than being beat.

And how he intimidated everyone.

And how he stuck up for his dad when his mom said bad things about him.

And how everyday he makes the choice to live in kindness and with good humor, because he doesn't ever want to be like his dad.

I told him he was going to make me cry. God's image was reflected in his story.

I'm not afraid when I see the Lord in the world. It only scares me when I don't see Him in the church.



<< | home | >>